Most people know you can’t leave the scene of a motor vehicle collision, no matter whether or not it’s your fault. State law also requires all drivers to remain at the scene of the crash.
In Vermont, not only must you remain at the scene after a car crash (staying in a safe location away from any traffic or other hazards), when there is injury to anyone other than you or damage to the property other than your own car. Be sure to exchange insurance information with the other driver.
Certain crashes also require you to fill out and submit a crash report. In Vermont, if someone was injured or if there is at least $3,000 worth of total property damage, you must submit a written report to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 72 hours after the crash. Most law enforcement agencies have blank report forms. In addition, you can access and download the Vermont car accident report online. You will need to provide personal information, a description of the collision, the other driver’s information, the nature of injuries sustained and costs to repair the vehicles involved. If there are more than two cars involved, you should file an additional report for each vehicle.
The report also requires you to provide insurance information for your vehicle, showing whether or not you had the required amount of liability coverage at the time of the collision. Additionally, state law requires you to provide your liability insurance information within five days to anyone who was injured or whose property was damaged.